Universitšt Duisburg-Essen
DEUTSCH
Research/Tools and databases for the organisation.../CONGA

Tools for curriculum planning and development – CONGA

The tool CONGA is a database application for the administration of courses and the provision of information for students. Within CONGA, data on courses such as kind, areas of specialisation, offered lectures, tutorials and exercises, are stored. With the help of the CONGA system, it is possible to plan and administrate university courses. Furthermore, the administration of data on lecturers, students and last but not least, on the capacities of available rooms is integrated in CONGA. On the basis of the stored data, CONGA provides the possibility to generate curricula and timetables that can have both general (for courses) and individual-related (for students) characters. The generation of curricula and timetables allow for inferences on the expected burden on both lecturers and students, such that the temporal and spatial planning of a course can be optimised. The system provides twofold information:

  • On-line-Information is information on the lecture content and course offerings that is provided on the internet. This information can be used by prospective students in their respective home countries already for the organisational and content-wise preparation for studies.
  • Off-line-Information is information that is used for the planning and administration of courses, but is not directly public.

With an increasing number of courses, the effort needed for the organisation of events, individuals and room capacities rises enormously. Even for the eleven Bachelor and Masters courses of the “International Studies in Engineering” (ISE) programm offered at the university of Duisburg-Essen, faculty of engineering, the CONGA system was an essential tool during the planning and introduction phases of the courses.

Furthermore, functions for the comparison of already earned credit points and the subjects of the curriculum of a course are integrated. A proposal for a study plan for the remaining activities of the students is being generated by means of: the credit points approved as a result of pilot studies, the resulting categorisation in a particular study term and the generated exam achievement.

With this system there is a possibility of:

  • to plan and administrate new courses
  • to generate curricula and timetables,
  • to carry out simulations with different courses, ·
  • to generate computations on the burden of lecturers and students
  • to compare timetables in order to detect hiatuses for overlapping events and ·
  • to perform temporal and spatial planning.

Funded projects in the area of work

Publications in the area of work

Theses in the area of work

Contact (Dipl.-Ing. Frank Schwarz)

© COMPUTER ENGINEERING mail to webmaster

Universitšt Duisburg-Essen
ENGLISCH
Forschung/Werkzeuge zu Studiengangorganisation.../CONGA

Werkzeug zur Curriculumplanung und -entwicklung – CONGA

Das Werkzeug CONGA ist eine Datenbankapplikation zur Administration von Studiengängen und Bereitstellung von Informationen für Studierende. Innerhalb von CONGA werden Daten über Studiengänge, wie Art des Studiengangs, Vertiefungsrichtungen, angebotene Vorlesungen, Übungen und Seminare gespeichert. Mit Hilfe des Systems CONGA ist es möglich, Hochschulstudiengänge zu planen und zu verwalten. Ferner ist die Verwaltung von Daten über Dozenten, Studierende und nicht zuletzt über zur Verfügung stehende Raumkapazitäten in CONGA integriert. CONGA bietet basierend auf den gespeicherten Daten die Möglichkeit, Studien- und Stundenpläne zu erstellen, die sowohl allgemeingültigen (für Studiengänge) als auch personenbezogenen (für Studierende) Charakter haben können. Die Erstellung der Studien- und Stundenpläne lässt Rückschlüsse auf die zu erwartende Belastung sowohl der Dozenten als auch der Studierenden zu, so dass die zeitliche und räumliche Planung eines Studiengangs optimiert werden kann. Das System stellt zweierlei Informationen bereit:

  • On-line-Informationen sind Informationen über Lehrinhalte und Lehrangebote, die über das Internet bereitgestellt werden. Diese Informationen können bereits von Studienanwärtern zur organisatorischen und inhaltlichen Studienvorbereitung in ihrem Heimatland genutzt werden.
  • Off-line-Informationen sind Informationen, die zur Planung und Verwaltung von Studiengängen dienen aber nicht unmittelbar öffentlich sind.

Mit zunehmender Anzahl Studiengängen steigt der Aufwand zur Organisation von Veranstaltungen, Personen und Raumkapazitäten enorm an. Gerade für die in der Fakultät für Ingenieurwissenschaften der Universität Duisburg-Essen angebotenen elf Bachelor- und Master-Studiengänge im Studienprogramm “International Studies in Engineering” (ISE) war das System CONGA ein unverzichtbares Werkzeug während der Planungs- und Einführungsphase der Studiengänge.

Weiterhin sind Funktionen zum Abgleich von bereits erbrachten Prüfungsleistungen und den Fächern des Studienplans eines Studiengangs integriert. Anhand dieser, aufgrund von Vorstudien anerkannten Kreditpunkte, der resultierenden Einstufung in ein bestimmtes Fachsemester und erbrachter Prüfungsleistungen wird ein persönlicher Vorschlag eines Studienplans für die verbleibenden Veranstaltungen des Studierenden generiert. Mit diesem System ist es möglich:

  • neue Studiengänge zu planen und zu verwalten,
  • Studien- und Stundenpläne zu erstellen,
  • Planspiele mit verschiedenen Studiengängen vorzunehmen, ·
  • Berechnungen zur Belastung von Lehrenden und Lernenden zu erstellen,
  • Stundenpläne zu vergleichen, um Lücken für übergreifende Veranstaltungen zu ermitteln und ·
  • Zeit- und Raumplanung durchzuführen.

Förderprojekte zu dem Arbeitsgebiet

Publikationen zu dem Arbeitsgebiet

Abschlussarbeiten zu dem Arbeitsgebiet

Kontakt (Dipl.-Ing. Frank Schwarz)

© TECHNISCHE INFORMATIK mail to webmaster