Universitšt Duisburg-Essen
DEUTSCH
Cooperations /Mercator Office in Indonesia

The co-operation with the Universitas Indonesia (UI) goes back to the year 1997. In the course of the first education exhibition where the DAAD introduced the newly established internationally oriented courses, personal contacts between Prof. Dr.-Ing. Axel Hunger and lecturers from the faculty of engineering at the UI was established. A few years later, in 2003, the Mercator office at the UI could be ceremoniously opened and run.

The UI-Mercator office îs like a facility of the faculty of engineering of the University of Duisburg-Essen and is located on the UI campus within spitting distance of the faculty of engineering. It ensures the long-lasting presence of the UDE not only at the UI, but also in the entire republic of Indonesia and the bordering countries.

The bureau is equipped with a secretariat and a multimedia laboratory equipped with the most modern computer technology. The construction of the Mercator bureau and the multimedia laboratory was made possible via the funding from Stiftung Mercator GmbH, Essen, which supports the BRIDGE project (Deutsch-Asiatische Hochschulallianz in den Ingenieurwissenschaften Teilprojekt Präsenz in Asien). With furtherance from the BRIDGE project emerged in addition a second Mercator bureau at the Universiti Kebangsaan Malaysia.

The original goal of the BRIDGE project was the institutionalisation of collaboration between the partner universities. The support and further development of commonly borne courses in engineering with double-degrees evolved into a special point of emphasis. In the course of this, a Masters course in computer engineering was established. This program has a high reputation in Indonesia and is meanwhile being supported for students of the UI with state scholarships of the Indonesian government.

Even in the domain of research, both partners cooperate with each other in several ways. On the one hand, a brisk exchange of scientists emerged; on the other hand, common projects could be carried out e.g. with furtherance from the European Union within the scope of the ASIA-Link program. The Mercator bureau also played an important role at the UI during the fund-raising of several national research projects of the Indonesian government.

In January 2007, the Mercator bureau moved to the newly erected Engineering Center at the UI. The UI Mercator bureau connects therewith the biggest Indonesian technology centre (Engineering Center) with German economy and science.


To the Mercator bureau in Indonesia

© COMPUTER ENGINEERING mail to webmaster

Universität Duisburg-Essen
ENGLISCH
Kooperationen/Mercator-Büro in Indonesien

Die Kooperation mit der Universitas Indonesia (UI) reicht zurück in das Jahr 1997. Im Rahmen der ersten Bildungsmesse, auf der der DAAD die neu geschaffenen auslandsorientierten Studiengänge vorstellte, kamen persönliche Kontakten zwischen Prof. Dr.-Ing. Axel Hunger und Dozenten der Fakultät für Ingenieurwissenschaften an der UI zustande. Wenige Jahre später, 2003, konnte das Mercator Büro an der UI feierlich eröffnet werden und seinen Betrieb aufnehmen.

Das UI-Mercator Büro ist als Einrichtung der Fakultät für Ingenieurwissenschaften der Universität Duisburg-Essen, angesiedelt auf dem Campus der UI in unmittelbarer Nähe zur ingenieurwissenschaftlichen Fakultät. Es sichert die dauerhafte Präsenz der UDE nicht nur an der UI sondern auch in der gesamten Republik Indonesien und den angrenzenden Ländern.

Zur Ausstattung des Büros gehört neben dem eigentlichem Büro und einem Sekretariat auch ein mit modernster Rechnertechnik ausgestattetes Multimedia-Labor. Möglich wurde der Aufbau des Mercator Büros und des Multimedia Labors durch Fördermittel der Stiftung Mercator GmbH, Essen, die das Projekt BRIDGE (Deutsch-Asiatische Hochschulallianz in den Ingenieurwissenschaften Teilprojekt Präsenz in Asien) unterstützte. Mit Förderung aus dem BRIDGE-Projekt entstand zudem ein zweites Mercator Büro an der Universiti Kebangsaan Malaysia.

Ursprüngliches Ziel des BRIDGE-Projektes war die Institutionalisierung der Zusammenarbeit zwischen den Partneruniversitäten. Die Unterstützung und Weiterentwicklung der gemeinsam getragenen Studiengänge mit Doppel-Abschluss in den Ingenieurwissenschaften entwickelten sich zu einem besonderen Schwerpunkt. In diesem Rahmen wurde ein Master-Studiengang in Computer Engineering aufgebaut. Diese Programm besitzt hohes Ansehen in Indonesien und wird mittlerweile mit Staatsstipendien der indonesischen Regierung für Studierende der UI unterstützt.

Auch im Bereich der Forschung kooperieren die beiden Partner auf vielfältige Weise. Einerseits entwickelte sich ein reger Austausch von Wissenschaftlern, anderseits konnten gemeinsame Projekte, z.B. mit Förderung durch die Europäische Union im Rahmen des Programms ASIA-Link durchgeführt werden. Das Mercator Büro spielte auch bei der Einwerbung mehrerer nationaler Forschungsprojekte der indonesischen Regierung an der UI eine wichtige Rolle.

Im Januar 2007 ist das Mercator Büro in das neu entstandene Engineering Center an der UI umgezogen. Damit verbindet das UI Mercator Büro das größte indonesische Technologiezentrum (Engineering Center) mit der deutschen Wirtschaft und Wissenschaft.


Zum Mercator-Büro in Indonesien

© TECHNISCHE INFORMATIK mail to webmaster